7 Tips on Finding that First Job

Two weekends ago, I had the privilege to attend my first Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) Regional Conference in Nashville, Tn., at Belmont University. The weekend was broken up with developmental sessions, keynote speakers, networking opportunities and great “Southern Hospitality.” One of my favorite sessions was with Gary McCormick, Director of Partnership Development at HGTV and the past Chair/CEO of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA). He discussed in great length the secrets to landing that first job. Since I have recently begin my post-graduate job hunt, the talk was extremely relevant for me.

I took a total of seven pages of notes, so I will condense that into my favorite seven tips that he shared.

1. Relocate with a purpose before applying for jobs. 

First off, McCormick answered the pressing question: should I relocate before I apply for jobs or wait until I receive an offer? McCormick suggested that relocating is better because you can start investing in the community. He said that you must have a reason for relocating other than the city is “cool.” Employers want to know that you are reliable and will not relocate to a “cooler” city at a given’s notice.

2. Look for a job in an industry you are already passionate about.

This may seem like a no brainer, but it is so important. Look first at companies that spark your interest. For example, if you took dance lessons since you were little, consider doing PR for a dance company. Look at that industries publications, companies, etc. You will enjoy the work more, your passion will show in interviews and you will already understand the industry and know key terms.

3. Use the Capture Strategy to prepare all your job application materials.

When you first read a job description, highlight all the key words, so you can use them in your application materials. While this may seem like common advice, McCormick took it a step further saying create a matrix with all the key words and plan where you will highlight those key traits in your application materials whether that be your resume, cover letter, references, etc. Also, make note of what you need to research and if you have contacts that could help you gain skills or experience that you lack for the position.

4. Be aware of snowballing interview tactics!

McCormick pointed out that sometimes employers will did deeper than the references you give them employing “snowballing” tactics. They might ask one reference if there is anyone else could speak to your qualifications, and contact them.

5. Your cover letter should be your best writing sample.

He said, “If that cover letter doesn’t sell you, your resume won’t do much good.” I had never thought about a cover letter in terms of a writing sample. It is your first piece of writing that your prospective employer will see, so make it perfect and compelling!

6. Leverage someone else’s 10 thousand hours in your network.

Your network does not stop becoming useful after you get a job. Your contacts can also be great resources in learning cultures of a new community or a new skill that you lack. You may not know all the media in the community, but you may know a great public relations partitioner in that market that would be able to help you make connections.

7. Be able to switch to business mode at a moment’s notice.

Gary McComick made an interesting suggestion of buying a track phone just dedicated to your job search, so when it rings, you answer it professionally. He said he likes calling prospective employees at 9 p.m. on a Friday evening or 4 p.m. on a Saturday afternoon to see how you might answer the phone in your natural environment, because as a PR professional, you never know when that reporter may call for a comment on your organization.

*Bonus: ALWAYS follow up appropriately.

I have always been took to send a hand-written thank you note after an interview. However, McCormick shared a story where his company interviewed four outstanding candidates. Only one sent a follow-up email, and none of the candidates sent a handwritten thank you. None of the highly qualified candidates were hired.

You can connect with Gary McCormick on Twitter @GaryMac865.

35 thoughts on “7 Tips on Finding that First Job

  1. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I have
    truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing for
    your feed and I am hoping you write once more soon!

  2. I am not sure where you are getting your information, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  3. What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I
    have found It positively useful and it has helped me out loads.

    I’m hoping to contribute & aid other users like its helped me. Great job.

  4. naturally like your web-site however you have to take a look at
    the spelling on several of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I
    find it very bothersome to tell the reality
    on the other hand I will surely come back again.

  5. I don’t drop many responses, but I looked at a few of the comments on this page 7 Tips on Finding that First Job | The PR Belle. I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright.
    Is it just me or do a few of the remarks come across as if they are coming from brain
    dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting at other social sites,
    I’d like to follow anything new you have to post. Could you post a list of the complete urls of all your social sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  6. Greetings! I know this is somewhat off topic
    but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin
    for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  7. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on
    sites I stumbleupon everyday. It’s always exciting to read through articles from other writers and use something from their web sites.

  8. 5 billion on digital advertising ‘ everything from website display
    ads to Facebook, Twitter, mobile, e-mail and then some ‘ this year, and by 2016, that
    should reach an even $62 billion. Targeting: The natural step
    that follows segmentation is targeting a particular segment to fulfill
    their needs. Using marketing automation solution in all its
    complexity.

  9. If you are looking for a personal injury lawyer within Fort Lauderdale then it is
    just a click awat. Even after extensive worldwide media coverage of the accident,
    the passengers of the Costa Concordia, which wrecked off the
    coast of Italy in January 2012, are finding that receiving compensation for their pain and suffering is an uphill battle.
    If they have a good track record, they will be proud to furnish you with
    the information.

  10. It is best that you simply use different plug-ins to your
    site so that you achieve good online ranking
    fast – Article Source: Credit shares everything on her
    blog on how you are able to become successful in web marketing.
    A SEO clients are never closed, although I checked my email last night at 2:00am, there are still over 30 brand new
    ones (not including spam. 6)Keep keyword density between 2 to 3%, you can forget or less.

  11. Thailand government is usually taking considerable measures in promoting the trade for profits.
    Complete abdominoplasty usually takes two to five hours,
    depending upon the extent of the work needed. The mini tummy tuck,
    or partial abdominoplasty, offers a way to flatten your
    abdomen without the cost and risk of a full scale operation.

  12. Every weekend i used to go to see this website, because
    i wish for enjoyment, for the reason that this this site conations truly good funny
    data too.

  13. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written much better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will forward this post to him.

    Fairly certain he will have a very good read. Thanks for sharing!

  14. Hello! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room
    mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this page to him.

    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  15. Choose whether any of your constraints are holding you back or whether you could employ the aid of
    others to pack in the spaces. Basically, you can attract traffic by means of online tools like
    blogs, which will improve your marketing offline.
    Once you have unveiled your web campaign function, keep track of
    how guests respond on blogs or other social network sites.

  16. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend
    your site, how could i subscribe for a weblog site?
    The account aided me a appropriate deal. I had been a little bit familiar of this your broadcast offered vivid transparent idea

Leave a Reply

