A Pinterest Success Story

There is a new social media toy on the seen that it seems everyone is talking about:

Pinterest.

Many of my friends in class had been talking about this site none stop, so I signed up. However, I felt like I did when I first saw Twitter. It looked cool, but I did not really understand how it could benefit me. It just seemed like something pretty to look at.

What is Pinterest?

My friend, Sara McClendon, wrote a great post about using Pinterest that can be found here. It is essentially if microblogging, bookmarking and photosharing had a baby platform. You share photos by “pinning” them to a category-specific board. Like Twitter, you can follow people’s boards, but they don’t necessarily follow you back. Like bookmarking sites, each photo is attached to a link where it was originally found on the web.

Here is the opening screen:


How Can PR Professionals Utilize Pinterest?

At first glance, Pinterest seems to only pertain to hobbies, but after using it for a couple of months, I see great utility for PR professionals.

  1. Driving Traffic. If you or your organization’s blog has engaging photos, it would be a great way to promote posts by pinning an interesting photo from the post. Pinterest is so shareable and viral by nature. It is a good way to drive traffic to your blog.
  2. Creative Brainstorming. Half the battle in PR, marketing and advertising is formulating a brilliant idea. That takes creativity and brainstorming. Pinterest is a great way to get inspired quickly. If you ever get stuck on an idea, scroll through Pinterest for 20 minutes to see what you will find.
  3. Easy Photo Sharing. It is so easy to share photos and find the owners of the photos to gain permissions to use their photos for stock images and such. Most bloggers are flattered by such requests and respond quickly.

In fact, the picture to the left is a testimony to that fact. I was looking for an ice cream scoop image to create an eye-catching flyer and Facebook event profile picture for an upcoming PRSSA, Public Relations Student Society of America, meeting about internships.

I typed in purple ice cream. I found this photo in about 5 minutes. I went back to the original blog post and commented asking to use her picture. Within three hours, she had responded to me saying yes.

We had our highest turn out for the semester, and I like to attribute some of that success to Pinterest.

Have you used Pinterest?

3 thoughts on “A Pinterest Success Story

  1. you know, i never thought of using pinterest to promote my blog, but you make some valid points. i might try pinning a few pictures from my posts and see what happens. thanks! i think i am going to enjoy your new blog : )

  2. Pingback: Pinterest: The Best Ideas are Borrowed | The PR Belle

Leave a Reply

